Crawling towards love

Do I understand what love is?
Have I fallen into it before?
Convincing myself I knew not-
Possibly I tried in my youth-
Now younger days have passed me by-
Still I know nothing of love-
Walking towards it-
At a mere crawl-
I write pages of it-
But all turn to a scrawl-
Giving of myself, selfless to be-
Can I love another past the faults-
Like I tried to love you all-
Wanting to be open inside-
Barren heart fill up with joys-
Oh, how I try, then I feel to die-
Will I ever feel love?
Attempt to make you smile-
Do I really want love?
Or just the idea if it?

© 2016ANDREA TRAVIS 
dedhedpoet

Leave a Reply

