Pray and Wait

Waiting and praying for the sun to appear. I sit in shaded places. My bones shiver under an overcast sky. My hands fumble over the rosary beads, whispering my petition. I keep my eyes fixed upon the heavens, ever waiting for a parting of the clouds. No sun- lightning following me around- Days are gray and melancholy. The air so thick I can’t breathe. Dust and smoke consuming me. My dulled emotions are wrapped in a heavy wet blanket, I can’t seem to shed. Sinking in this mire, every moment lasting hours. Oh come fair winds, lift me up above all shame. In gale force rip away the scales from my eyes. Chisel the clay from me, reveal something new. Sun bake down upon my head, dry my wet and weary brain. I pray and I wait.
©2016dedhedpoet

Leave a Reply

