Missing Reflection

Mirror

Like murky water

Looking deeply

For any resemblance of what was me

Dialated eyes

Searching for a glimpse of my soul

My breath

Fogging up this empty pool

I used to see a beautifully lost girl

Now the image has distorted

Am I still standing here

Facing the abyss

An outline of an older woman

Now faces me

Oh where have I disappeared to

Do others see this ghost before them

A shadow exist now

How long has it been

Since I was a creature of substance

Solid

Still remaining on the plane

Between light and

The absence of light

 

©2016dedhedpoet

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mils says:

    This is heart-rending, for me in my life at this moment anyway. It really touches me, as people do not. Thank you for sharing. I’ll take my morning train with a beautiful poem in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully written 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

