My Brick Wall

The night, so cold, so quiet.
moonlight to guide my way.
I shiver under silvery stars.
why am i alone tonight.
my loneliness, my only companion,
there are those, who could possibly love
me, but they really don’t know my mind or heart.
I have spent years building these barriers,
a brick wall around my heart, a barbed fence,
to protect my wall, and a mote to enclose it all.
i want to be loved and return it in kind.
I’m so afraid, I’ve been blind,
will truelove I ever find?

©2016dedhedpoet 

Leave a Reply

